An update! Job offer + house sold   12 comments

Hi all. Sorry it’s been a while since my last update. Well we had a successful landing trip for 2 weeks. I am currently typing this from Gatwick airport south terminal and am flying permanently to Vancouver this morning!

The good news is that I have now secured a very good software development job in Langley which I start on 24th October. We are renting a very nice 1 bedroom apartment which has 3 apartments in the building, but that is set on a 40 acre plot and our nearest neighbours are 300ft+ either side, so there is plenty of room!

We have accepted an offer on our house although it’s significantly less than we paid for it (around £26,000 less!) but at least it means we should complete by mid-November and my wife should be able to join me in Canada by the end of November/start of December.

Many thanks to everyone for their support over the past 12 months.

I see I have some PMs to answer on here, and also on the canadavisa.com. Rest assured I have not forgotten about you and I will get round to answering them tomorrow some time once I have got to the apartment in Canada.

Best wishes!
Wayne.

Posted October 11, 2011 by Wayne in Uncategorized

12 responses to “An update! Job offer + house sold

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congratulations Wayne. Job well done. Good luck to you on your next journey. God bless you

  2. Congrats Wayne 🙂 You sure have a very pleasant life ahead!

    Indira Prabhakaran.

  3. Fantastic news Wayne, I am very pleased for you! It’s all slotting into place now!
    I have a quick question for you. How long after ‘medical results have been received’ appeared on your ecas did you get PPR? My ecas still says ‘In Process’ but this line has been added when you click on it. I am anxiously awaiting PPR but I hope it’s not like last year when the visa quota ran out and they weren’t issuing PPR till the new year.
    Best of luck for your new job. Hope your wife is with you soon. We must definitely all meet up when we get there.

    Regards, Nicci.

  4. Hi Wayne,
    I chanced up on your site about a month ago and have read most of your post since then. Great effort and appreciate your sharing of info. Also great to hear on your successful landing and getting an offer. Congrats and best wishes on life ahead….
    I am in “InProcess” this year for 1122.
    Cheers,
    Vinod

  5. Hey wayne congrats on your new job, have been following your updates and 2 weeks after you got your PPR we got ours as well. Just a quick one.. did you apply for jobs in canada from the UK, and if so how did you go about it? My hubby is a soft ware tester. Really look forward to hearing from you. Cherry

    • Hi. I managed to arrange a telephone interview initially – one of the user’s on Canadavisa/British expats husband works for a software house and passed on my CV to their software development manager. After the telephone interview I was able to arrange a face-to-face interview when I was there for 2 weeks during our record of landing. Then I was offered the position just before flying over in early October – although the delay was due to a number of factors since they had a conference for 2 weeks and then they move offices, so most employers would probably get a decision sooner than that in normal circumstances.

      So it is possible to “start the ball rolling” remotely from your own country, but you will need to go to Canada for a face-to-face interview (often several interviews) before a Canadian employer will offer you a position.

      Best of luck,
      Wayne.

  6. Please let me know what’s the processing time to get the canada PR.If i apply on Dec 2011.

    Awaiting for reply.

    Bhadresh Patel,
    India,

    • Please actually read the blog. Processing times vary vastly depending on your NOC, visa office, the complexity of your case.
      On average probably about 12 months, but it can be as quick as 3/4 months, or as slow as 18 to 24 months.

      Wayne.

Leave a Reply

